The Haps: Breakers Fun Run Series

A couple of days ago my friend Jo mentioned that the Breakers Fun Run series was starting this week… and then she asked if I might be interested in partaking in the 5km race. Having never ever run a race before (bar a couple of primary school regional athletics meets) I was rather hesitant, but with no commitments that night I had no excuse for refusal.

We roped in a third team mate in my cousin Annie and last night, armed with our $2 entry fee, registered for the 5km run down at Breakers restaurant. A short 30 minutes later and all the runners & walkers were huddling for the best starting position and we were off.

Jo bounded out at an incredibly impressive pace (the girl can run), Annie struggling to fend off a giggling fit among all of the people and prams surrounding her, also set herself a pretty swift pace. I established my snails pace and settled into the 5km nightmare jog.

When I finished at least 10 minutes behind Jo and Annie, it was exciting to learn that there was a spirited sprint finish for first place and Jo who had led the women the entire race was pipped at the post coming second with a time of 22min 51sec, 1sec behind the winner. Gutted… But she’s determined to return in a fortnight to give it another go. Annie wasn’t too far behind Jo, and me, well I’m quite confident that I came last! Not that I had expected more from my performance, I was stoked to simply finish the run.

It was a great community event for a Thursday night, well organised and completely inclusive.As mentioned above, the four part series started last night with the next three runs taking place on 21 February, 7 March and 21 March. Remember your $2 entry fee and come down. For more info visit the Gisborne District Council website.

Race Day Essentials

My race day essentials clockwise from top left: iPod Shuffle (with Running playlist loaded) Kathmandu drink bottle, Nike Free 3.0 shoes, Karen Walker Jonestown sunnies.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

