Baking: Gingerbread Loaf

Having woken this morning with an intense craving for banana bread, I took to the kitchen (post run) to get my bake on. While I didn’t opt for banana bread – due to a lack of over ripe bananas in the house – I decided to take on a much loved and fail safe gingerbread loaf recipe.

Taken from the Chelsea Sugar website, this recipe yields a light, spicy and incredibly delicious loaf that will not last long in any household. I doubled the mixed spice and ginger for a slightly warmer end result, but it’s just as tasty either way.

Gingerbread Loaf Recipe

Ingredients

50g butter
1 Tbsp Golden Syrup
1 egg
1/2 cup Soft Brown Sugar
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp ginger spice
1 tsp mixed spice
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup milk

Method

In a large microwave-proof bowl or saucepan, melt the butter and golden syrup together.

Add egg and sugar, mix well, then add all other dry ingredients except the soda.

Mix the soda with the milk and stir in. Pour into a baking paper-lined loaf tin and cook at 190°C for 30 – 40 minutes.

Cool on a wire rack and slice when cool (if you can wait!).

Serve with lashings of butter and a good old fashioned cup of tea and you’ve got morning tea sorted.

Gingerbread Loaf

My gingerbread loaf!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Baking: Gingerbread Loaf

  1. swamikia says:

    Today I have baked your gingerbread loaf and we loved it! 🙂 As I have a blog about recipes, I was wondering if I may copy your recipe – with link to your blog – on mine.
    Thank you very much for the recipe anyways, it’s going to be our breakfast pretty often! 😉

  2. […] Formula 1? You bake, of course! Some months ago while browsing wordpress blogs I have found this recipe that really intrigued me. I think I had never really eaten a gingerbread loaf in my life, and the […]

Leave a Reply

